top of page
Writer's picturenotesfromnoel

Pickled Avocados


Pickled avocados

So I know this can sound a little weird for anyone who isn't really into pickling. Up until about a month ago when I started to make my own pickles, I wasn't into pickling either. I had attempted eggs and that adventure did go over super well. I will be attempting them again here soon though! But this recipe is amazingly delicious! I was skeptical when I first came across this recipe, but when I took that first bite, the flavor was out of this world and there is a mild sweetness I was not expecting. I can't wait for y'all to try this! In one of my jars (the center one in the picture) I had some onions that I needed to use, so I decided to add some to my jar as well.


Ingredients:

  • 1 c. distilled white vinegar

  • 1 c. water

  • 1/3 c. sugar

  • 1 tbsp. kosher salt (or pickling salt, this is what I used)

  • 1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

  • 1 clove garlic, thinly sliced

  • 5 sprigs cilantro

  • 2 underripe avocados, peeled and thinly sliced

  • Sweet onions to taste (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Step 1: In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine vinegar, water, sugar and salt and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. When the sugar and salt have dissolved, set aside to cool.

  2. Step 2: In a mason jar, place red pepper flakes, garlic, cilantro, and avocado slices. Pour cooled pickling mixture into the jar and seal tightly with a lid.

  3. Step 3: Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving.


This is such a simple yet surprisingly delicious recipe, once you try it, it'll become a regular part of your household recipes. If you try it, I'd love to hear how you liked it in the comments below! Did you add something a little different? Let me know in the comments below.

64 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page