top of page
Writer's picturenotesfromnoel

Homemade Sour Pickles

There is nothing quite like homemade pickles ready to munch on in 24 hours!


I've been on a pickle frenzy of late and with inflation, the cost of my favorite pickles that are the best for you out there are simply too much (by best I mean they have ingredients you can pronounce and that aren't bad for you). I would get them from time to time as a special treat, and then I thought to myself, why not make my own. So I scoured the internets and read recipe after recipe and finally decided to use a recipe by Trazia Rae, from the Pepper app, as a base for my recipe. This particular recipe is not a shelf stable one, it is meant to be kept in the fridge. BUT, it can last up to 3-4 months!! All in all this recipe cost me about $10, including tax, of needed supplies to make this. I was able to make 3 quart size jars of pickles, where as I was paying $9 for one jar when I purchased it from the store.

Homemade sour pickles

For the three jars that I ended up with, I had to make an additional batch of brine, I simply cut the recipe in half and was able to fill my last jar and ended up having just a little brine left over.


 

List of Ingredients

  • 6-8 pickling cucumbers (I ended up using 3 bags of mini organic cucumbers)

  • 1-2 sprigs of fresh dill (I added 2 sprigs per jar)

  • 1 teaspoon mustard seeds

  • 1 teaspoon pickling seed mix

  • 1 tablespoon Aleppo pepper

  • 2-3 bay leaves

  • 3 whole cloves

  • 3 cloves of garlic

  • 1 teaspoon black pepper corns

  • 4 cups white distilled vinegar

  • 1 cup water

  • 1/4 cup sugar

  • 2 tablespoons Morton's pickling salt

Step 1: Let’s Get Started


In a medium size pan, on medium heat bring your vinegar, sugar, and salt to a boil. You'll want to boil for about 10-15 minutes until your sugar and salt have dissolved. Make sure to cover your pot. I made the mistake of not doing that once and ended up staining my ceiling!!


Step 2: Multitasking

While the brine is cooking, slice up your cucumbers. Add them to your jars along with your seasonings ,dill, and garlic.


Step 3: Let it cool


Once your brine is done boiling, remove it from the heat and let it cool. You don't want to break your glass by adding in super hot brine.


Step 4: Filler up!


Once your brine has cooled, pour into your jars. Make sure to wipe the rims of your jars and securely place your lid on top. Put your jars of beautiful pickles in the fridge for at least 24 hours, then enjoy!!


Note: This is a refrigerator recipe. If you are wanting the shelf life to be longer than 3-4 months, you will need to can your pickles. If you decided to can them, please make sure you follow proper canning precautions.

 

In closing

Now that you have learned to make your own homemade sour pickles, I can't wait to hear how it went. Please leave a comment and pictures below if you ended up trying this recipe. Did you tweak it to make it your own? I'd love to hear all about it below.

Till next time!!

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page